

Accreditation Standards Co-Chairs Meeting December 6, 2013, 9:00-11:30am, S-215 Minutes

To: Distribution

From: Linda Rose, Ed.D. and Bonnie Jaros, Ph.D., Co-Chairs Accreditation Oversight

Committee

Members Present: Monica Collins, Allen Dooley, Susan Gaer, Yolanda Garcia, Gina Giroux, Madeline Grant, Bart Hoffman, Shelly Jaffray, Bonnie Jaros, Elliott Jones, Jim Kennedy, Cherylee Kushida, Rick Manzano, Jeff McMillan, Nga Pham, Monica Porter, Linda Rose, Lilia Tanakeyowma, John Zarske

I. Evaluation Team Site Visit—Linda disseminated two documents which the Evaluation Visiting Team Members will prepare prior to the visit: *Team Member Overview of the Self Evaluation Report* and *Team Member Written Report Template*. Team members will be vigilant regarding Responses to the Previous Team's Recommendations, and they will make general observations related to the general quality of the Self Evaluation Report. In their conclusions, they will begin to create some recommendations for the college. Also after scrutinizing the Self Evaluation Report and all the evidence and all special progress reports, the team members will determine what further evidence they need to see and whom they would like to interview. Please review the following: Self Study 2008, Follow Up Report 2009, Follow Up Report 2010, and Midterm Report 2011. These documents are indicators of the status of how SAC has responded to the recommendations of the Commission from the 2008 visit.

II. Institutional Effectiveness Survey

- **A.** The results of the *Staff Accreditation Institutional Effectiveness Survey 2013* was discussed. The standards committees may review the results related to their respective standards and compare them to the results of the *Staff Accreditation Survey of 2007*, which was conducted in preparation for the *2008 Self Study for Reaffirmation of Accreditation*. It is necessary to determine if any follow-up activities will be required (e.g., focus groups, special interviews). In addition, the survey results may be one item of evidence used to develop the *Actionable Improvement Plans* for the college. **B.** Other useful surveys include the *Student Satisfaction Survey* and the *Graduation Survey* (multiple years available on the Research Department page at rsccd.edu). The latter contains information about student perception of their success with the Institutional Learning Outcomes (i.e., Core Competencies).
- **III. Draft 2 of the Self Evaluation Report**—Each of the standard committee co-chairs submitted Draft 2 of the Self Evaluation Report.

Please note the following:

1. Every section of every standard will be due at the end of January. Linda and Bonnie will work on a revised timeline for January and send it out next week. Also, it

is necessary to use the template supplied by Linda so that the report will be standardized in format.

- **2.** Please send electronic copies of Standard IB, IIB, IIIA, IIIB and IIIC to Linda and Bonnie.
- IV. Other—There will be a College-wide Accreditation Forum led by President Martinez next Friday, December 13, 2013 at 10:00am in U-201A. All the standards co-chairs are encouraged to attend.

The next meeting of the Standards Co-Chairs will be January 10, 2014 from 9:00-11:30am in S-215.

Documents

Staff Accreditation Surveys 2007 and 2013







SAC Staff Eligibility_Requireme
Accreditation Survey nts_Edited-January-2

The mission of the Rancho Santiago Community College District is to provide quality educational programs and services that address the needs of our diverse students and communities.

The mission of Santa Ana College is to be a leader and partner in meeting the intellectual, cultural, technological and workforce development needs of our diverse community. Santa Ana College provides access and equity in a dynamic learning environment that prepares students for transfer, careers and lifelong intellectual pursuits in a global community.

Members:

Standard I: Mr. Jim Kennedy, Dr. Gina Giroux, Dr. Elliott Jones

Standard IIA: Mr. Bart Hoffman, Dr. Cher Carrera, Ms. Monica Porter

Standard IIB: Dr. Lilia Tanakeyowma, Ms. Monica Collins

Standard IIC: Ms. Shelly Jaffray, Ms. Yolanda Garcia

Standard IIIA: Ms. Becky Miller, Ms. Madeline Grant

Standard IIIB: Dr. Michael Collins, Mr. John Zarske

Standard IIIC: Dr. Allen Dooley, Ms. Susan Gaer, Ms. Cherylee Kushida

Standard IIID: Dr. Michael Collins, Mr. Ray Hicks

Standard IVA: Ms. Avie Bridges, Mr. Don Mahany, Mr. Rick Manzano

Standard IVB: Dr. Sara Lundquist, Dr. Jeff McMillan

District Representative: Nga Pham

cc: Erlinda J. Martinez, Ed.D.